DAVE'S DIARY - 24/11/2014 - PREVIEW OF EPISODE 13 - SERIES 24

LADY ANTEBELLUM HEADLINE NU COUNTRY TV SERIES #24 FINALE

Grammy winning Georgian trio Lady Antebellum headline our Nu Country TV Series #24 finale on C 31 at 10.30 pm on Thursday November 27 on the eve of their second Australian tour in March.

Texan Rodney Crowell returns to the show repeated Monday 5.30 am and 2.30 pm and Thursday 2.30 am with a classic love story in Behind Bars .

Fellow Lone Star State singer-songwriters Lee Ann Womack and Jackson Taylor & The Sinners also perform on the program filmed and edited by Laith Graham.

And Californian stone country singer Bobbie Cryner pays homage to the late Patsy Cline in Behind Bars .

We also have a sneak preview of our 25 th series with some local artists performing on our summer festival circuit.

Nu Country TV is a highlight of the C 31 streaming list on Digital 44.

Just follow this link on your computer or mobile phone - http://www.c31.org.au/program/view/program/nu-country-tv

LADY ANTEBELLUM BARTENDER BLUES

Lady Antebellum return to the show with the video for Bartender - first single from their sixth album 747.

It was written by group members Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, and Hillary Scott with Rodney Clawson, and co-produced with Nathan Chapman.

The video was directed by Shane Drake and co-stars model Kate Upton and Veep/Arrested Development actor, Tony Hale.

Lady Antebellum debuted the song during the American Idol season 13 finale on May 21, 2014.

Two days later they performed the song on Good Morning America, Late Show with David Letterman and 2014 CMT Music Awards on June 4, 2014.

The band headlines CMC Rocks Queensland at Ipswich from March 13-15 and also play Rod Laver Arena on March 17 with former Sugarland singer Kristian Bush and Maddie & Tae.

They previously opened for expat Australasian superstar Keith Urban on April 9, 2011.

CLICK HERE for a previous Lady Antebellum CD review in The Diary on June 21, 2010.

JACKSON TAYLOR & THE SINNERS

Texan roots country singer Jackson Taylor & the Sinners show how two make the most of a Texan BBQ in their video for No Place To Go from their 14 th album Crazy Again .

They showcase a river, pick-up truck, caterpillar and even a Billy Joe Shaver T-shirt.

Jackson is one of 11 children born in a labour camp in Moody, Texas .

His lost highway took him from the Lone Star state to Las Vegas back to Texas where he now hangs his hat.

Jackson 's passion for roots country was passed down by his dad who took him to see and hear country greats like Waylon, Willie, and Billy Joe Shaver perform.

His adolescence was spent bouncing from one migrant labour town to another, finally settling in a small farming town in Washington State .

After graduating high school, he moved back to Texas but left to try to make it in Nashville .

There, Jackson found work as a songwriter but after a couple of tough frustrating years he discovered Nashville was not home.

From New York City to Los Angeles , Jackson found his rightful home, ironically right back where his life began - in Texas .

Billy Joe Shaver says Jackson 's songs are so real and honest, you know straight off he's been there and done that. He writes and sings like he lives, great songs that I believe will live forever."

Further info - http://www.jacksontaylorband.com

RODNEY CROWELL PAINTS A TARPAPER SKY

Texan troubadour Rodney Crowell has plenty of Australian links.

He has written songs for Keith Urban and frequently uses expat Quorn born guitarist Jedd Hughes in his touring band and on his records.

This week he performs an acoustic version of Frankie Please from his 16 th album Tarpaper Sky.

Rodney last toured here in and played the Prince Of Wales in St Kilda in 2009 with Will Kimbrough.

Crowell, 64, was a long-time member of Emmylou's Hot Band in an era when she also employed Ricky Skaggs, Emory Gordy Jr, Hank DeVito, Albert Lee, James Burton, Glenn Hardin and Tony Brown.

Emmylou's third ex-husband Paul Kennerley - brother-in-law of Aussie TV host Kerri-Anne, produced her revered concept album The Ballad of Sally Rose in 1985.

Harris's soul brother Vince Gill, who first toured here with Albert Lee, also played with Crowell in the Cherry Bombs .

Rodney, married to Rosanne Cash from 1979-1992, toured here two decades after Cash, now 59, who later wed fellow singer-songwriter John Leventhal.

The latter day Tennessean wed singer Claudia Church in 1988 and poached Hughes from Patty Loveless's band about a decade ago.

CLICK HERE for a Crowell CD review in The Diary on June 1, 2014.

CLICK HERE for an exclusive Crowell interview in The Diary on March 28, 2009.

CLICK HERE for Anne Sydenham's Crowell concert review.

BOBBIE CRYNER HONOURS PATSY CLINE

Californian Bobbie Cryner returns to the show with an historic video for a classic song from our radio era.

Daddy Laid The Blues On Me was on her self-titled 1993 debut album.

Kansas raised Cryner previously appeared with her hit I Just Can't Stand To Be Unhappy from 1996 album Girl Of Your Dreams .

Cryner, now 53, also wrote Real Live Woman - title track of Georgian singer Trisha Yearwood ninth album.

The divorcee left a tape of the song in Yearwood's letterbox shortly after Trisha split with second husband Robert Reynolds - bassist for The Mavericks.

That was long before Trisha wed Oklahoma superstar Garth Brooks and sang on Australian country king Lee Kernaghan's eighth album The New Bush.

Cryner later sued her former producer and publisher Carl Jackson for total ownership of Real Live Woman and other songs.

Bobbie, real name Phyllis Cryner Maffett, recorded during the early and mid-1990s, first for Epic and then MCA.

Her highest-charting song You'd Think He'd Know Me Better peaked at #56 in 1996.

Other chart songs were Daddy Laid the Blues on Me, He Feels Guilty and You Could Steal Me.

She also wrote evocative tune Nobody Love, Nobody Gets Hurt - title track of Suzy Bogguss's eighth album in 1998 and Lee Ann Womack's Stronger Than I Am.

Bobbie appeared in 1995 film Something to Talk About starring Julia Roberts, Dennis Quaid, and Robert Duvall and released another album True Grit.

Further info - http://www.bobbiecryner.com/

LEE ANN WOMACK 20 YEARS AND TWO HUSBANDS AGO

Texan Lee Ann Womack returns with another classic video for 20 Years And Two Husbands Ago.

The song could have been torn from her back pages - she was once wed to fellow singer Jason Sellers.

Now she enjoys marital bliss with Frank Liddell who produces Miranda Lambert and The Pistol Annie.

Liddell produced her first album in nearly seven years The Way I'm Livin' on roots label Sugar Hill.

Grammy winner Womack, now 48, has recorded acclaimed duets with George Strait on Everything But Quits and re-recording of Strait's hit version of Jim Lauderdale song The King of Broken Hearts that appeared on the Pure Country soundtrack.

Another song The Bees features vocals from Keith Urban.

Womack, daughter of a small town Texan DJ, won a Grammy with Willie Nelson for their 2002 duet, Mendocino County Line .

In October 2010 during her solo recording hiatus Womack sang Liars Lie on the soundtrack of Tim McGraw-Gwyneth Paltrow movie Country Strong.

Lee Ann played a sheriff - Chief Deputy Claire Wades in a small East Texas town in another movie Noble Things.

The six time CMA Award winner's new album features songs by Chris Knight, Mindy Smith, Buddy Miller, Mando Saenz, Hayes Carll, Neil Young, Bruce Robison and late Roger Miller.

Womack chose roots covers including Carll's tune Chances Are that we featured on Nu Country TV.

It's a far cry from her arrival at Belmont University in Nashville where she met and wed singer-songwriter Sellers in 1990.

They divorced in 1996 - five years after they had a daughter Aubrie Lee.

Womack gave birth to her second daughter, Annalise Liddell, in January 1999 after marrying Liddell.

CLICK HERE for a feature on Lee Ann from the Diary on March 28, 2005.

TURK TRESIZE AND WOLFE BROTHERS PREVIEW SERIES 25

Cannons Creek singer-songwriter Turk Tresize, Van Diemens Land exports The Wolfe Brothers and Donna Fisk give a sneak preview of our 25 th series that premieres on Thursday December 4 at 10.30 pm.

He performs debut video Miles N Miles.

Tresize stages The Shed festival on his farm on February 7 and tours with Georgian singer-songwriter Eric Lee Beddingfield in January.

We also share snippets of new videos by The Wolfe Brothers and Donna Fisk.

CLICK HERE for tour dates in Tonkgirl's Gig Guide.

FURTHER INFO - http://turktresize.com/

HOW TO KEEP NU COUNTRY ON AIR

We need your support as we celebrate the 24th series of Nu Country TV.

Australian record companies and artists have joined forces to ensure our survival.

We have new CDS by major artists you can win by becoming a Nu Country TV member or renewing your membership.

They include singing actors Willie Nelson and Tim McGraw, Voice judge Blake Shelton, Ashley Monroe, Brad Paisley, Gary Allan, Toby Keith, Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Carrie Underwood, Chris Young, Charley Pride, Slim Dusty, Kacey Jones, Rosanne Cash and more.

We also have the latest John Denver all-star tribute album and DVDS by Lady Antebellum.

CLICK HERE for our Membership Page for full details.

top / back to diary