Grammy winning string band Old Crow Medicine Show go behind bars in our prison special on Nu Country TV Saturday April 11 at 10.30 pm on Channel 31, Digital 44.

Alabama born nouveau outlaw Jamey Johnson also visits prison in his video on a show repeated Monday 5.30 am and 2.30 pm, Tuesday 4 pm, Wednesday 7.30 am and Thursday 2.30 am.

Melbourne bluegrass band Mustered Courage also visit the old Geelong Gaol in their video in a show filmed and edited by Laith Graham.

Sydney bluegrass band The Pigs are joined by former Skyhooks guitarist and latter day ABC breakfast DJ Red Symons and Georgian star Jason Aldean also returns.

Melbourne singer Ruby Boots also makes her Nu Country TV debut.

Nu Country TV is a highlight of C 31 streaming list on Digital 44.

Just follow this link on your computer or mobile phone - http://www.c31.org.au/program/view/program/nu-country-tv


Old Crow Medicine Show make the most of time off for good behaviour at the old Tennessee State Prison in their humorous new video with use of hacksaw blades and disguises for a fast escape from the old Tennessee State Prison.

Their characters enjoy a sexual romp in Brushy Mountain Conjugal Trailer from their Grammy winning eighth album Remedy.

Marty Stuart, Dom Flemons and J P Harris also appear as comic characters for the band who debuted here at CMC Rocks The Snowys at Thredbo in 2009.

Bandleader Ketch Secor says he was careful not to make light of prison life or the song's infamous namesake.

“Brushy Mountain is one of those epic prisons,” he revealed.

“It's one of the most famous prisons in the South, and it just sounds like an imposing place. It's up there with Sing Sing, Alcatraz, Attica. There's a respect that has to be paid when you're going to make your video actually inside a prison's walls, actually in prison jumpsuits.”

The video was shot near Nashville at the Tennessee State Prison, now decommissioned, but that made the experience no less humbling.

“A lot of our activities were right around the death row area, and it's just really intense,” said Secor.

“It's really heavy.”

Country music and prison time have a long history - Johnny Cash's prison concerts and David Allan Coe and Merle Haggard convict songs.

“There's a whole life going on behind bars in the United States, and it's so important that country music jump that fence,” he said.

The song isn't about reflecting on mistakes or becoming a better person.

It's about a wacky escape plan that seems right out of O Brother, Where Art Thou ?

“It's funny, you send out your song to a couple of producers in Nashville, and the video treatments come back basically like Bikini Prison Break ,” he said.

“You know, it was all about the girls that are washing your cell block down or whatever. But we really pride ourselves on the fact that there's not a single woman in this video, except the man who plays one.”

Ah yes, the old cross-dressing accomplice ruse.

“We wrote this treatment that just felt like it was fun,” he said.

“And if you were on the inside and you got to see this, hopefully you'd be rooting for Cory Younts and his escape, and you'd be rooting for Chance McCoy and his lipstick and hacksaw.”

CLICK HERE for Old Crow Medicine Show Remedy CD review in The Diary.

CLICK HERE for a previous CD review in the Diary on August 14, 2012.


Jamey Johnson's lead male character goes Behind Bars for his sins and art in the video for High Cost Of Living from his third album That Lonesome Song .

Johnson, 41, recently signed a new deal with his own Big Gassed Records and released a single You Can - a song left over from previous sessions for The Dollar, That Lonesome Song , and The Guitar Song .

His first release on the label was a Christmas-themed EP, The Christmas Song , including several covers and one new original song, which was released in November 2014.

In January 2015, Johnson released Alabama Pines followed by You Can in February.

Before that in 2012 Jamey released his fifth album - tribute disc Living For A Song to the late Mississippi born songwriter Hank Cochran who died at 74 on July 15, 2010.

CLICK HERE for a Jamey Johnson feature in the Diary on December 13, 2011.

CLICK HERE for Jamey's Hank Cochran tribute CD in The Diary on November 4, 2012.


Melbourne bluegrass band Mustered Courage join our prison theme in the old Geelong gaol.

The 2015 Tamworth Golden Guitarists performed Cruel Alibis from their debut album.

They are clothed in grey prison suits with their mother's birth dates printed on the breast pockets.

They described the day as: trashing prison cells, pausing to reflect on their wrong deeds and hiding out from the 39 degree day behind a foot-deep solid bluestone walls.

Long-time friends Texas born Nick Keeling and Julian Abrahams started performing together in a hip-hop band while studying Jazz in Canberra.

Mustered Courage features lead vocalist Keeling on banjo, Abrahams on vocals and guitar, Josh Bridges vocals and bass and Paddy Montgomery on mandolin.

In-demand Melbourne Dobro player Pete Fidler also appears in the clip.

Cruel Alibis laments some of the choices in life - a story about separation of friendship, written from the perspective of a couple losing their love.

Further info - http://www.musteredcourage.com/


Sydney bluegrass band The Pigs revive an old Skyhooks classic with help from a latter day ABC DJ Red Symons.

Red Symons models fashionable headwear and plays accordion and pedal steel on the Skyhooks classic You Just Like Me Cos Because I'm Good In Bed from their fourth album Home Brew.

Singer Fanny Lumsden also helps out - but not with Red's headwear.

The Pigs have toured Germany and Denmark, played Port Fairy folk festival and return to Broadbeach in June on their national tour.

Thy share their name with a Bristol punk rock band formed in 1977 and have appeared on ABC TV shows Rage and Spicks' N Specks .

CLICK HERE for The Pigs Home Brew CD review in The Diary.


Jason Aldean returns to the show with a country rap hybrid Dirt Road Anthem , penned by Colt Ford and Brantley Gilbert

It's on Jason's fourth album My Kinda Party.

Jason also joined rapper Ludacris on the song on his Burning Bridges CD.

Aldean, 38, and childhood sweetheart wife Jessica Ussery - mother of his two daughters - split on April 26, 2013.

On March 21 he wed American Idol singer Brittany Kerr whom he was caught cheating with when married to Jessica.

Jason also appeared in 2013 movie Sweetwater .

Sweetwater , released as Sweet Vengeance in the UK, is a 2013 American thriller western film directed by Logan Miller and co-written with Andrew McKenzie and Noah Miller.

It also stars Ed Harris, January Jones, Jason Isaacs, Eduardo Noriega and Stephen Root.

The movie is set in the late 1800s with a beautiful ex-prostitute trying to build an honest life with her husband in the rugged plains of New Mexico.

When she catches the eye of a sadistic and powerful religious leader her life is violently turned upside down.

She embarks on a bloody course of vengeance with the assistance of a renegade sheriff who has pretty violent tendencies.

Aldean owns hunting company Buck Commander and 1300 acres of land outside Nashville - Black Jack Ridge .

He released sixth album Old Boots New Dirt , here in February with live DVD Night Train To Georgia .

Aldean's new record company Sony has also released his entire recording catalogue from a decade long career on indie label Broken Bow.

Aldean plans to tour here next year.

CLICK HERE for an exclusive Aldean interview in The Diary.


West Coast singer Ruby Boots performs her video for Oh Lover from her debut solo disc Solitude out here this month.

Ruby hails from WA and also known as Bex Chilcott

Wrap Me in A Fever follows Oh Lover and Middle Of Nowhere as singles.

It was recorded in Melbourne's Sing Sing South with producer Anna Laverty.

"Anna and I bonded over a mutual obsession of Ryan Adams before we had even stepped into the studio. She instantly fell in love with Wrap Me In A Fever , so I just as instantly felt that recording the song with her would be one that was high in chemistry and connection in the studio", Bex revealed.

"My songs are my vessels that keep me in check, but sometimes you feel like you've taken what you want from that period or moment in your life, put it in a song and move on where Wrap Me In A Fever keeps on giving because it's a bittersweet reminder of the vulnerability that rears it's lonely self when we follow our hearts, and that's something that's never going to change."

It follows Ruby signing to label Lost Highway in January 2015.

Ruby toured as support act with American folk duo Shovels and Rope earlier this year.

She also performs in Melbourne and at Boddington Blues Festival before supporting legendary US singer-songwriter Tony Joe White on tour throughout New South Wales.

Further info - http://www.rubybootsmusic.com/


We need your support as we celebrate the 26th series of Nu Country TV.

Australian record companies and artists have joined forces to ensure our survival.

We have new CDS by major artists you can win by becoming a Nu Country TV member or renewing your membership.

They include singing actors Willie Nelson and Tim McGraw, Voice judge Blake Shelton, Ashley Monroe, Brad Paisley, Gary Allan, Toby Keith, Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Chris Young, Charley Pride, Slim Dusty, Rosanne Cash and more.

We also have DVDS by Lady Antebellum.

CLICK HERE for our Membership Page for full details.

top / back to diary