DAVE'S DIARY - 9 JUNE 2014 - PREVIEW OF EPISODE 2 - SERIES 23

ZAC BROWN AND PARMALEE HEADLINE NU COUNTRY TV

Georgian superstars the Zac Brown Band headline Nu Country TV this Thursday June 12 at 10.30 pm on Channel 31 with their latest video clip.

Pistol packing Parmalee debuts on the Digital 44 show repeated Monday at 5.30 am and 2.30 pm and Thursday 2.30 am.

Texan Hayes Carll returns to Behind Bars with a tabloid TV religion parody and Tennessean duo Joey & Rory continue the Biblical theme.

Melbourne country singer Frank Reno honours his plumber pa and Sydney chanteuse Christie Lamb warns of the perils of whiskey in their new video clips.

Nu Country TV has been added to the C 31 streaming list on Digital 44.

Just follow this link on your computer or mobile phone - http://www.c31.org.au/program/view/program/nu-country-tv

ZAC BROWN HARD RAINS FALL DOWN IN WINTER

We take you behind the scenes at a recording session with the chart topping Zac Brown Band and their little pop mate Dave Grohl.

Zac's eclectic combo provide precipitation advice for our drought stricken farmers with their first single from the sessions with the Foo Fighters premier pugilist.

Let It Rain features Zac's band with Grohl guesting on drums.

Disaster buffs will recall that when Todd Russell and Brant Webb were rescued from the 2006 Beaconsfield mine disaster in Van Diemen's Land they nominated another Georgian superstar Alan Jackson, Lee Kernaghan and the Foo Fighters as their musical mentors in their hours of need.

Grohl performed his tune Beaconsfield Mine Disaster at a surprise solo gig at Nashville 's famous Bluebird Café that was also subject of The Thing Called Love movie that featured the late River Phoenix, Samantha Mathis and Sandra Bullock as the key actors.

Kevin Welch, Dale Watson, K T Oslin, Webb Wilder, Jo-El Sonnier, Pam Tillis, Trisha Yearwood, Deborah Allen and Jimmie Dale Gilmore had cameos.

Meanwhile Zac's band are staging their own festivals and working the summer festival circuit in the U.S. before a planned return visit to Australia to follow their Myer Music Bowl gig with Jason Mraz.

CLICK HERE for an exclusive Zac Brown feature in the Diary on November 2, 2011.

CLICK HERE for a CD review on August 8, 2012.

PARMALEE SUMMARY JUSTICE FROM CAROLINA

Carolina band Parmalee debut on our show with a video that eulogises their home state.

The clip for Carolina , featuring a blonde artist with a broad tableau, is title track of the band's fourth album Feels Like Carolina .

Parmalee features the Thomas Brothers - lead guitarist-singer Matt and drummer brother Scott, bassist cousin Barry Knox and guitarist Josh McSwain.

If you plan to chance your arm with Parmalee take heed of the words of the late Johnny Cash's 1959 hit - Don't Take Your Guns To Town.

Drummer Scott returned fire as the victim of an armed robbery after a September 2010 gig at The Money - a local bar directly across from Winthrop University in Rock Hill , South Carolina - and killed one of his assailants.

He recovered after 10 days in a coma during a 35 day Charlotte hospital stay to pick up the tempo for the band

Parmalee is signed to the Stoney Creek division of Broken Bow Records.

They hail from tiny town Parmalee - home to a gas station, two blinking yellow lights, and a small tin- roofed barn dubbed Studio B.

Matt and Scott began their career with their father in a group entitled Jerry Thomas and the Thomas Brothers Band .

They grew up near Greenville watching Jerry front a popular local southern rock blues band.

The boys watched and learned, picking up their own instruments and jamming along with their dad's band and integrated their own style into the songs they were playing.

Knox, who played drums for the church choir, loved what his cousins were doing and soon joined them in the family band.

They followed their #3 hit Carolina with new single Close Your Eyes earlier this year.

Further info - http://parmalee.com/

HAYES CARLL BEHIND BARS WITH JESUS

Houston born Hayes Carll scored a prestigious Americana award for his 2008 hit She Left Me For Jesus from his third album Trouble In Mind.

It's no surprise Carll's video - also featuring singing Texan crime novelist Kinky Friedman's pianist Little Jewford - is equally as vivid as his cheating song.

The singer's director parodied the Houston tabloid TV show Cheaters - a popular nocturnal hit pick with our chattering class during its Australian seasons.

Carll, now 38, was the source of a young character in 2010 Tim McGraw-Gwyneth Paltrow movie Country Strong .

He was inspiration for singer Beau Hutton played by Garrett Hedlund - also in the 2004 McGraw film Friday Night Lights .

Hedlund performed two Carll songs - Hard Out Here and Hide Me Babe - and Carll performed Take Me Away after being head hunted by music director Randall Poster.

"That was really neat to watch, a better-looking, better-singing version of myself doing my songs," Carll revealed before his debut Australian tour in 2012 that started at the Gympie Muster and finished at Northcote Social Club with Hunter Valley singer-songwriter Kirsty Lee Akers.

"My highlight was when Gwyneth asked me to dance at the movie wrap party. Garrett sang Hard Out Here . Slow dancing with Gwyneth Paltrow while Garrett Hedlund sang one of my songs was pretty surreal."

Carll was nominated for an Americana Award for Drunken Poet's Dream - a song he wrote with Oklahoma born outlaw Ray Wylie Hubbard.

Hayes has signed with the Thirty Tigers label to release his 5 th album Highway 87 - sequel to KMAG YOYO in February 2011 on Lost Highway Records .

Thirty Tigers also features recent tourists Jason Isbell and Elizabeth Cook, Sturgill Simpson, Ryan Bingham and Trampled By Turtles.

CLICK HERE for an exclusive interview with Hayes in the Diary on July 14, 2012.

JOEY & RORY WASH SINNERS IN BLOOD

Tennessean duo Joey and Rory return to the show with a question and cure for sinners and cheaters.

Are You Washed In The Blood is on their Farmhouse Records label.

It's a sibling of sorts to their live rendition of Biblical parable The Preacher & The Stranger from their gospel album Songs Of Faith & Family - their fourth disc.

Joey & Rory shared Nashville talent show Can You Duet with O'Shea as a career rebirth tool.

Rory had already written a brace of hits for major artists - Clay Walker's Top Five hit The Chain of Love , Blake Shelton's #1 hit Some Beach and Jimmy Wayne 2008 single I Will.

He also penned Sweet Emmylou with Catherine Britt - it was showcased on two of her albums and a Joey & Rory disc.

Joey & Rory have withdrawn from touring to care for their daughter Indiana Boone who was born on February 17 with Downs Syndrome.

Indiana is Joey and Rory's first child together.

Rory has two daughters - Hopie and Heidi - from a previous marriage.

The couple broke with debut single, Cheater, Cheater , from debut CD Life Of A Song and have been married since 2002.

They have since released Made to Last , and in the middle of their fourth season of The Joey & Rory Show on RFD-TV .

Last year they released their seventh album Country Classics: A Tapestry of Our Musical Heritage .

CLICK HERE for a Joey & Roy feature in The Diary on August 30, 2009.

CHRISTIE LAMB WHISKEY WARNING

Kirkham chanteuse Christie Lamb emulated fellow Sydney singer Melinda Schneider when she flew to the biggest song-writing mecca in the music world - Nashville .

She hooked up the progeny of a moonshiner to write for her debut album All She Wrote .

Lamb joined North Carolina moonshiner's son Skip Black in a famed fermented finishing school.

It was a decade after latter day Doris Day celebrant Schneider wrote memorable songs with Florida moonshiner's daughter and Aussie 2013 tourist Elizabeth Cook.

Lamb delivers a salient whiskey warning in her video this week for All She Wrote - title track of her debut album.

The abused woman left her boozed out beau in the song she will perform at Gympie Muster in August.

She also included another booze ballad Watered Down Whiskey on a disc that features five of her own songs and six penned by Nashville writers.

The multi-instrumentalist and Western Sydney University Bachelor Of Music student hails from former sheep country where El Caballo Blanco opened as a Spanish dancing horse theme park in the 1970s.

All She Wrote follows her video for Mr Wrong that we featured on June 27, 2012.

CLICK HERE for a Lamb CD review in the Diary.

FRANK HONOURS PLUMBER DAD RENO

Melbourne singer Frank Reno returns with a song about his dad - Me And My Old Man .

Frank's plumber dad Reno played himself in a heritage house he is renovating in Coburg - the now fashionable northern suburb of Melbourne that once provided free bluestone board and lodgings to Ned Kelly and new age protégés.

Reno 's video follows debut clip Better Road and revolves around a young couple discovering the simple yet beautiful things in their lives.

It was shot in and around Melbourne and is planned with U.S. release in mind.

Casting involved "beautiful but believable characters."

Further info - francologozzo@hotmail.com

HOW TO KEEP NU COUNTRY ON AIR

We need your support as we celebrate our 23rd series of Nu Country TV.

Australian record companies and artists have joined forces to ensure our survival.

We have new CDS by major artists you can win by becoming a Nu Country TV member or renewing your membership.

They include singing actors Willie Nelson and Tim McGraw, Voice judge Blake Shelton, Ashley Monroe, Brad Paisley, Gary Allan, Toby Keith, Dierks Bentley, Eric Church, Carrie Underwood, Chris Young, Charley Pride, Slim Dusty, Eli Young Band, Rosanne Cash and more.

We also have the latest John Denver all-star tribute album and DVDS by Lady Antebellum.

CLICK HERE for our Membership Page for full details.

top / back to diary